You can find more information on the main page in English go to ESMT Berlin Homepage

Press release

Berlin, June 6, 2016

Two ESMT Berlin professors receive research honors

  • Linus Dahlander receives TUM Research Excellence Awards for his outstanding research on innovation
  • Rajshri Jayaraman accepts KfW Research Prize for excellence in policy-relevant development research

Linus Dahlander, Associate Professor of Strategy and KPMG Chair in Innovation, was awarded the Technical University of Munich (TUM) Research Excellence Award by the Peter Pribilla Foundation for his outstanding research in the field “Innovation and Leadership.” Rajshri Jayaraman, Associate Professor of Economics and Karl-Heinz Kipp Chair in Research, accepted the KfW Development Bank Research Prize for excellence in policy-relevant research on developing countries.

The Peter Pribilla Foundation supports initiatives that promote the interaction of innovation and leadership. By awarding the TUM Research Excellence Awards, the foundation pays close attention to both future academics and the linking of science and practice. Linus Dahlander has been honored for his research stream on open and distributed models of innovation. In the last couple of years, this research has been published in the top academic journals, and some of the work is also among the most cited innovation papers. The award was presented in early June within the framework of the 16th European Academy of Management (EURAM) Conference in Paris, a dialogue platform for international scientists.

The KfW Research Prize honors academic work combining original research and practical relevance, thus giving fresh impetus for development cooperation. Rajshri Jayaraman has received the KfW Research Prize for her paper “Anatomy of a Contract Change”, which was published in the American Economic Review earlier this year. The study examines the effect of wage incentives on worker productivity in India. It shows that while in the short-run “behavioral” responses to incentives, which are inconsistent with neoclassical economic theory, may dominate, in the long-run workers behave just as a standard model would predict. It illustrates the importance of looking at both the short- and long-run effects of economic policies before jumping to hasty conclusions. Rajshri Jayaraman was awarded the prize on June 3, 2016 at the annual meeting of the Research Group on Development Economics in Heidelberg.

About ESMT Berlin

ESMT Berlin was founded by 25 leading global companies and institutions. The international business school offers a full-time MBA, an executive MBA, an executive MBA/MPA, a master’s in management as well as open enrollment and customized executive education programs. ESMT focuses on three main topics: leadership and social responsibility, European competitiveness, and the management of technology. ESMT faculty publishes in top academic journals. Additionally, the business school provides an interdisciplinary platform for discourse between politics, business, and academia. The business school is based in Berlin, Germany, with Schloss Gracht as an additional location near Cologne. ESMT is a private business school with the right to grant PhDs and is accredited by the German state, AACSB, AMBA, EQUIS, and FIBAA.