You can find more information on the main page in English go to ESMT Berlin Homepage

Press release

Berlin, April 28, 2015

Dr. Dieter Zetsche succeeding Michael Diekmann as Chairman of the Board of Trustees of the ESMT Foundation

  • Succession on May 1, 2015
  • Further development to include concentration on the management of technology and continued internationalization

Dr. Dieter Zetsche, Chairman of the Board of Management, Daimler AG, will succeed Michael Diekmann, Chairman of the Board of Management, Allianz SE, as the Chairman of the Board of Trustees of the ESMT European School of Management and Technology Foundation on May 1, 2015. Michael Diekmann has held this position since 2007.

The period in which Michael Diekmann was the Chairman of the ESMT Foundation was one of rapid and impressive growth of the international business school. During his tenure, the school received major accreditations, including that of the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business (AACSB) in 2012, and the right to award doctoral degrees in 2013. ESMT faculty grew from 13 to 32 faculty members, and the number of participants in degree programs increased from 29 to more than 180 in the full-time MBA, Executive MBA, and Master’s in Management programs. At the same time ESMT has been ranked among the top schools in the international rankings of the Financial Times, the Economist, and Bloomberg Businessweek.

Dr. Dieter Zetsche has been a member of the Board of Trustees of the ESMT Foundation for several years. He commented, “Strong growth, international reputation: ESMT has gained clearly in stature in the past eight years. I look forward to supporting the business school as it continues to establish itself as one of the premier addresses for management education in Europe. This is especially true regarding the focus on technology, further internationalization, and the increased interconnection with companies.”

Prof. Dr. Clemens Börsig, Chairman of the Deutsche Bank Foundation and Chairman of the ESMT Supervisory Board, added, “We are very grateful to Michael Diekmann for his strong dedication. During his tenure, ESMT continued its successful expansion and has become one of the most widely recognized and respected business schools in Europe. Dr. Zetsche is an excellent choice as his successor. Such a well-known international leader will further the school’s global advancement.”

About ESMT

ESMT European School of Management and Technology was founded in October 2002 by 25 leading global companies and institutions. The international business school offers a full-time MBA, an executive MBA, a master’s in management as well as open enrollment and customized executive education programs. ESMT focuses on three main topics: leadership and social responsibility, European competitiveness, and the management of technology. Additionally, the business school provides an interdisciplinary platform for discourse between politics, business, and academia. ESMT is based in Berlin, Germany, with Schloss Gracht as an additional location near Cologne. ESMT is a private business school, accredited by the German state, AACSB, AMBA, and FIBAA. Since 2013 ESMT has the right to grant PhDs.