You can find more information on the main page in English go to ESMT Berlin Homepage

Press release

Berlin, April 7, 2014

Herman Van Rompuy to receive ESMT Responsible Leadership Award

  • Award ceremony at ESMT Annual Forum on July 3, 2014
  • President of the European Council is the fifth recipient of award for outstanding responsible leadership

ESMT European School of Management and Technology will award this year's “ESMT Responsible Leadership Award” to the President of the European Council Herman Van Rompuy. The ceremony will take place as part of the ESMT Annual Forum in Berlin on July 3, 2014. Herman Van Rompuy is the fifth recipient of the “ESMT Responsible Leadership Award,” which was awarded before to Mario Draghi, President of the European Central Bank, Mario Monti, former Prime Minister of Italy, Güler Sabancı, Chairman and Managing Director of the Turkish Sabancı Holding, and NR Narayana Murthy, founder and Executive Chairman of Infosys Limited.

“It is a great honor to receive this award from ESMT. Europe has faced major and unexpected challenges in the recent past. Our mission remains to preserve the achievements of our Union and to make sure that the countries of our continent are ready to face the future,” said Herman Van Rompuy.

Jörg Rocholl, President of ESMT, commented: “The leadership qualities of those who strive for European cohesion and stability are shown best in challenging times. Therefore, it is an honor for us to recognize Herman Van Rompuy’s commitment to the European Union by awarding him with the ESMT Responsible Leadership Award.”

Before Herman Van Rompuy became President of the European Council in November 2009, he was Prime Minister of Belgium, and also previously served as Speaker of the House of Representatives. His political career includes various government positions, including Vice-Prime Minister, Minister of Budget, Minister of State and Secretary of State for Finance and Small Businesses.

The topic of the 7th ESMT Annual Forum being held in Berlin on July 3, 2014, is “Corporation 2050: Building to last, leading to adapt.” The annual event offers international opinion leaders from business, academia, and politics a platform for discussion. In keynote speeches, panel discussions, and smaller sessions CEOs of leading global companies and renowned scientists will discuss, among other things, the future of work, the role of technology and business innovation, and leadership and sustainability.

Keynote speaker at this year's ESMT Annual Forum are Peter Bakker (World Business Council for Sustainable Development), Kurt Bock (BASF SE), and Michael Diekmann (Allianz SE). Other panel members include Theo Freye (CLAAS KGaA mbH), David B. Peterson (Google, Inc.), Frank Riemensperger (Accenture GmbH), Johannes Teyssen (E.ON SE), and Angela Titzrath (Deutsche Post AG).


About ESMT

ESMT European School of Management and Technology was founded in October 2002 by 25 leading global companies and institutions. The international business school offers a full-time MBA, an executive MBA, a master’s in management as well as open enrollment and customized executive education programs. ESMT focuses on three main topics: leadership and social responsibility, European competitiveness, and the management of technology. Additionally, the business school provides an interdisciplinary platform for discourse between politics, business, and academia. ESMT is based in Berlin, Germany, with Schloss Gracht as an additional location near Cologne. ESMT is a private business school, accredited by the German state, AACSB, AMBA, and FIBAA. Since 2013 ESMT has the right to grant PhDs.